Program

International Conference on Optical MEMS and Nanophotonics (OMN)
2021 Summer School – Online

The OMN 2021 Summer School has concluded but recordings of the sessions are available to registered students until the end of August. After August, they will be transferred to the IEEE and made available to members only.

Topical Sessions and Speakers:

Reconfigurable Photonic Computing

Date: 3 August 2021
Time: 13:15 UTC (06:15 Pacific N America / 15:15 Central Europe / 21:15 Singapore-China)
Presider: Harald Schenk
13:15 – Welcome and Opening Remarks for 2021 Virtual Summer School
– Dan Marom, OMN Steering Committee Chair

13:30 Keynote:
Photonic quantum computing
Mark G. Thompson
PsiQuantum
14:15 Invited:
Hybrid quantum photonics
Ali Elshaari
KTH Royal Institute of Technology
14:45 Invited:
Non-von Neumann photonic computing for machine learning and artificial intelligence
Harish Bhaskaran
University of Oxford
15:15 Invited:
Inverse designed integrated photonics
Jelena Vučković
Stanford University

Limits of Metastructures

Date: 4 August 2021
Time: 13:00 UTC (06:00 Pacific N America / 15:00 Central Europe / 21:00 Singapore-China)
Presider: Joseph Talghader

13:00 Keynote:
High dimensional optical meta-devices: classical to quantum
Din Ping Tsai
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
13:45 Invited:
Active semiconductor metasurfaces
Isabelle Staude
Friedrich Schiller University Jena
14:15 Invited:
Free-space active photonics from hybrid electro-optic metasurfaces
Ileana-Cristina Benea-Chelmus
Harvard University
14:45 Invited:
Plasmonic metasurfaces for sensing and tunable optical absorption
Tim Palinski
NASA Glenn Research Center
15:15 Invited:
MEMS-tunable metasurface Alvarez lens
Karl Bohringer
University of Washington

Future Directions in Nanophotonic and Biophotonic Sensors

Date: 5 August 2021
Time: 13:00 UTC (06:00 Pacific N America / 15:00 Central Europe / 21:00 Singapore-China)
Presider: Guangya Zhou

13:00 Invited:
Opportunities of surface-enhanced Raman spectroscopy in biomedical science
Jian Ye
Shanghai Jiao Tong University
13:30 Invited:
Photonics-based biosensing: measuring the devil inside!
Heidi Ottevaere
Vrije Universiteit, Brussels
14:00 Invited:
Gold Nanostars as excellent nanoplatform for surface-enhanced Raman scattering-based sensors
Laura Rodriguez-Lorenzo
International Iberian Nanotechnology Laboratory, Portugal
14:30 Keynote:
Portable Sensors based on Integrated Photonics
Andrea M Armani
University of Southern California
15:15 Invited:
Integrated ultrasound microphone with optical readout for emerging imaging techniques
Xavier Rottenberg
IMEC Belgium